Accessibility Guide

Search the Guide

How to use

Each article can be filtered by role (content creator or developer), or by a range of topics (links, headings, navigation, etc.). You can also adjust how many items are shown per page, and navigate by the pager.

Definition of roles

Content creator: Website editor, instructor working in canvas

Developer: Web admin or developer, mainly working on web themes or complex applications

Note about roles

Roles are determined by the person most likely responsible for an area of web design and development. Guidelines can overlap, and depending on a project or site, the responsibilities may fluctuate.

Related Accessibility Guidelines

WCAG 2.0 and WCAG 2.1

Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.1 is the current baseline W3C Recommendation for developing accessible web content based on four principles:

  1. Perceivable: users must be able to detect the content using a variety of senses.
  2. Operable: users must be able to navigate and use all functionality in web content.
  3. Understandable: users need web content that is readable and predictable.
  4. Robust: users can still access content, even if technologies update or change.

As of today, Western's official resolution states we must adhere to WCAG 2.0 as a bare minimum. However, we recommend meeting WCAG 2.1, as 2.1 is backward compatible and satisfies 2.0 criteria, in addition to new criteria added in 2018.

ARIA 1.1

Accessible Rich Internet Applications (ARIA) provides a range of information to users about complex widgets and states of other interfaces.

Note: semantic HTML should be used instead of ARIA whenever possible.

There are resources for learning more about using ARIA when needed: